Sleepy Animals, Sailboats, and no English

We have finally made it to Germany! After almost 18 hours of travel, Lindsey and I have arrived in Bremerhaven with no more than a bruise from my backpack that weighs more than it should. Dragging almost 100 pounds of my life with me was quite the experience – making me wonder how I am going to get through the port, to the ship, and into a cabin no larger than a shoebox, stuffed with both my roommate’s and my luggage.

IMG_9904

The easiest part of dragging luggage through JFK

After arriving at our hotel, sleep deprived and hungry, we walked to Hafenstraße, a local street filled with restaurants (surprisingly mainly Greek and Italian food) which has become a familiar location we turn to for anything we need (such as ATMs or more shampoo for me!)

Bremerhaven is a beautiful little port city on Germany’s North Sea coast. Less than 100 km large with only 110,000 residents, it is a city full of history. After catching up on much needed sleep, trying to combat the jet lag that will inevitably affect us every few days because of our constantly changing time zones, we traveled through the residential part of Bremerhaven to the water, where the heart of the city lies.

Our first stop was the Deutsches Auswanderer Haus, the German Emigration Center, which sits in the New Harbor. The New Harbor opened in 1852 and was the departure point for almost 1.2 million emigrants to the New World by 1890. The Emigration Center is easily one of the most detailed, informational, and interesting museums I have ever been to. With an incredible innovative concept, there was a deep emotional connection to the subject of emigration, making it an outstanding visit. One of the most interesting parts was hearing what emigration from Germany to the United States was like from another perspective. Other than the experience of Ellis Island (translated to Island of Tears in many languages), many immigrants were forced into our way of life, creating an overall negative experience (there were also plenty of stories of the positive American experience). Hearing those stories as an American added a new perspective to my understanding of immigration, both past and present.

We then took a trip to the zoo, aptly named Zoo am Meer (Zoo on Sea), where we saw some really sleepy animals and adorable children with their families.

From the zoo we walked around the harbor spotting old sailboats as we questioned whether or not they could actually sail (we realized they were all mini museums in themselves), until we came upon the U-Boot Wilhelm Bauer. Curious as to what a German Submarine looked like (and if us tiny humans could fit comfortably), we stopped in. “Wilhelm Bauer” was constructed by Nazi Germany’s navy in 1944 and, despite having never gone on patrol, is an example of the power and technology possessed in World War II. An interesting note at the start of the museum marks the exhibit as not a “nostalgic collection” of warfare, but a reminder of the terror technology can ensue. Lindsey and I also clarified that we, both less than 5.5 feet, could barely fit (I was ready to have a claustrophobic fit after seeing the bunks). How 58 grown men fit in the submarine? We have no idea. We are hoping our cabins are larger.

Being in Bremerhaven has definitely been an overall positive experience. Not a primarily touristy city, it is rare that we come across an English speaker, which has become a humbling experience that I am sure I will become accustomed to. In slightly more than 24 hours I will board a ship that will open up the world to me in so many different ways. I am excited to have an open mind filled with unfamiliar ideas and new cultures. I cannot wait to have everything I have known challenged by concepts I could have never imagined. I am terrified of the discomfort it will bring, but I know this is what will stimulate the most growth. My journey has just begun!

IMG_9931

Part of the New Harbor – the Wilhem Bauer is poking out on the left

IMG_9932

A beautiful view of the New Harbor, a little bit past this we think we saw the MV World Odyssey!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I will try my best to keep this blog updated – but contact me at kellyann.bonanno.fa17@semesteratsea.org (or any of my other emails) for more regular updates or just say hi!!

-KA

 

2 thoughts on “Sleepy Animals, Sailboats, and no English

Leave a comment